Here’s Why Ravindra Jadeja Isn’t Playing In The 3rd ODI Vs West Indies

Superstar India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja missed the third against West Indies on Wednesday as well after he had missed the previous two matches of the series.

The BCCI revealed that Jadeja, who was initially named the vice-captain for this ODI series, has still not gained 100 percent fitness from his knee injury and hence was ruled out of the third and last ODI of the series.

Ravindra JAdeja
Image – Twitter/@imjadeja

Ravindra Jadeja in race with time to get fit for T20I series

The left-hander had sustained a knee injury ahead of the first ODI. Then the board have stated that Jadeja was ruled out for the first two ODIs, but after his exclusion from the teamsheet on Wednesday, the BCCI took to Twitter to announce that the southpaw has not yet recovered completely and is under the view of the medical team.

“Ravindra Jadeja was not available for selection for the 3rd ODI since he is still not 100 percent fit.The medical team will continue to monitor his progress,” the BCCI tweeted.

Here is the board’s update on Jadeja’s situation:

Jadeja is coming off a good individual tour of England, where he notched up his maiden overseas century in the Edgbaston Test and played a crucial hand of 46* in the second T20I. He had, however, remained non-threatening with the ball.

Nonetheless, Jadeja not regaining full fitness is a bit of a concern now. The 33-year-old experienced all-rounder is a crucial part of the Indian team and the management will be hoping that he attains his fitness ahead of the 5-match T20I series against Nicholas Pooran’s side that will commence on Friday.

In Jadeja’s absence, though, Axar Patel grabbed his chance with a match-winning effort in the second ODI – returning with bowling figures of 1/40 but more remarkably, smashing 64* runs off 35 balls to take India home in the chase of 312.

Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan won the toss and elected to bat first in the third ODI, a dead rubber as India have already wrapped up the series. India made only one change – getting in Prasidh Krishna for Avesh Khan – while the hosts rung in three changes.

Here are the teams:

West Indies (Playing XI): Shai Hope(w), Brandon King, Keacy Carty, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran(c), Kyle Mayers, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Akeal Hosein, Hayden Walsh, Jayden Seales

India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan(c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson(w), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna

India’s squad for the five T20Is vs WI: Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Also Read: Suresh Raina Wrote A Beautiful Birthday Wish For Jonty Rhodes

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: